Foundation Subjects

The following are the Foundation Subjects that we teach following the programmes of study outlined in the 2014 National Curriculum (Key Stage 1 - Years 1 and 2):
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education
Our curriculum is delivered through creative learning themes. These have been developed in line with the National Curriculum content and requirements for each Key Stage. Great emphasis is made on developing children's skills across the curriculum. Through careful medium term and weekly planning, teachers ensure that the learners’ essential skills are being developed, alongside National Curriculum requirements.

There will be times when some of the learning objectives of a Foundation Subject won’t fit into the creative curriculum and so to make sure that we teach those skills and knowledge effectively we will teach that area as a ‘stand alone’ lesson or series of lessons.